ECBA Certification

Eligibility | Certification Cost | Syllabus

ECBA Certification Overview

Entry certificate in business analysis (ECBA) is an IIBA, Canada certification. This is possibly the most valued entry level business analyst certification in the world.

Are you intending to become a business analyst in the IT industry? Are you looking to make a transition in your career to the business analyst role? You will find all the relevant information here.

Business analyst is one of the most rewarding career professions in the IT industry. Refer to the data points, highlighted on the right. To become a business analyst, you need to prepare to become proficient in business analysis skills as well as acquire ECBA Certification

This article will discuss all the details about ECBA like certification eligibility, cost, training programs and preparation resources.

The average salary of entry level business analysts is INR 489,416 as per in India.
The average salary of entry level business analyst is $ 51,000 to $ 62,000 in the US (Source: Ziprecruiter, Zippia and payscale)
IIBA certifications are the most reputed certifications for business analysts in the world

We can't solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them.

-Albert Einstein

ECBA certification eligibility

The eligibility criteria for ECBA Certification examination are as follows (as per IIBA website):

  • No previous BA work experience required
  • 21 hours of professional development in the last 4 years (IIBA EEP like Techcanvass training can provide you the PDUs)
  • Agreement with the ECBA™ Code of Conduct

More details are available at the IIBA ECBA Certification page as shown below: IIBA ECBA Certification

ECBA Certification cost

ECBA Certification cost ranges from $225 to $295, depending on your country. ECBA Certification cost comprises of 3 components – Membership fees, Application and exam fees. The certification fees details for ECBA are provided in the table below:

 Region IRegion IIRegion III
Membership fees
Application Fees
Exam Fees (Members)
Exam Fees (Non-members)

Region I, Countries: USA, Canada, Australia, United Kingdom, United Arab Emirates& more..

Region II, Countries: Singapore, Taiwan, South Africa & more…

Region III, Countries: India, Argentina, Pakistan & More..

To check you specific country’s membership fees, visit IIBA membership page

ECBA Syllabus

The ECBA certification examination is based on Business analysis body of knowledge (BABOK) guide. The BABOK guide is structured into knowledge areas, Techniques, perspectives and competencies. The weightage of the knowledge areas is provided below:

(This is Valid from 1st March 2021)

Business Analysis Planning & Monitoring
Elicitation & Collaboration
Requirements Life Cycle Management
Strategy Analysis
Requirements Analysis and Design Definition
Solution Evaluation
Business Analysis and the BA Professional
Underlying Competencies
Business Analysis Key Concepts

ECBA Exam pattern

ECBA Certification exam is a multiple choice questions based exam and is conducted by PSI. You can take this exam from home provided you have a web cam attached to your machine and have a good internet connection. Key points about ECBA certificate exam pattern are:

  • There are 50 MCQs
  • Each question will have four options
  • Every question will have one correct answer
  • There are no negative marking

You can check the FAQ section on PSI website for more details on – how the exam is conducted and other requirements.
The natural question is to know about the passing criteria for this exam. To know more, visit our article on ECBA Passing score.

ECBA Certification Preparation

You can join a training course from any IIBA Endorsed education provider(EEP) to get 21-hrs of PDs to become eligible for the exam. Techcanvass is an IIBA EEP and provides ECBA certification training as classroom, Live online training as well as On-demand training

Click on the link below to know more.

ECBA Online Training ECBA Self Study Course

Resources for Becoming a Business Analyst


This e-book will help you understand the basics of business analysis, role of business analyst, skills of a business analyst with the help of a case study.

Our Publications

Overall Student Rating

Average Rating: 5   Votes: 197  Reviews: 157  

Do you have a Question?
Get in touch with us.

Contact Us Now